As a Child

I remember as a child the miniature animal bobbleheads from the Littlest Pet Shop collection I would play house with. I remember playing jump rope with other girls and singing our hearts out about bubblegum and numbers. I remember I would collect little shiny rocks I would find outside on the streets and in the grass from when I would explore with my neighbors. I remember spending countless coins on necklace and phone strap charms to add onto my evergrowing collection.

I miss the times when children were allowed to go out and explore with other kids without the immense fear of danger that parents have today. I miss the times when sitting in one place on our phones and electronic consoles wouldn’t be the only thing we did. I miss when kids were able to bond more intimately over a thrilling experience rather than a screen. Most of all, I miss when kids were more adventurous back then.

Leave a Reply

